Music Reviews

View all reviews (list)

Labels and artists interested in being featured here may contact Michael McCarthy at cinema365@gmail.com. Follow Michael on Twitter https://twitter.com/paris365.

BOA: KISS MY LIPS (FULL ALBUM REVIEW)

Following the release of the luscious title track recently, the Queen of Pop that is BoA has now released the full length Kiss My Lips album, which is her eighth Korean album for those of you who are counting. Not bad for someone who's celebrating the 15th anniversary of her career this year. Especially when you consider how many Japanese releases she's done on top of that.


May 21, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
MONSTA X: TRESPASS

Starship Entertainment's Monsta X was formed through the Mnet reality show No.Mercy. The group consists of Joo Heon, Shownu, Ki Hyun, Hyung Won, Won Ho, Min Hyuk, and I.M. The biggest difference between Monsta X and other boy bands is that they put more of an emphasis on hip-hop, something that's obvious during their stunning opening number "무단침입 (Trespass)," an aggressive rap track that blends trap flourishes with heavy EDM-style beats for an energetic sound that's both current and futuristic.


May 19, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
K-POP SINGLES: GILME, BBAHN, KITTIB, SWEET BEAN

GILME: TELL ME THIS IS REAL


May 15, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
REMOTE GIRL: RELAX IN THE CITY

If you're a fan of Capsule's Yasutaka Nakata then Remote Girl is bound to become on of your favorite J-Rock groups as soon as you listen to their sunshiny cover of Perfume's "Relax in the City" below.


May 12, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
BOA: KISS MY LIPS

BoA's latest Korean single, the glimmering "Kiss My Lips," just arrived on Youtube courtesy of the good folks at SM Entertainment. At the time of this writing, 10,875 people have given it the thumbs up with only 344 giving it a thumbs down. If the reaction of her fans continues at this ratio, she's sure to have one of her biggest hits on her hands. But then all of BoA's songs become hits, really. To that end, one must deduce that she's a perfectionist because she sure insists that her material always be top notch. Cheers to her for that, though.


May 11, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
JANG HYUN SEUNG: MY

Well, somebody has been busy. And his name is Jang Hyun Seung. Or is it Jang HyunSeung? I've seen it spelled both ways. In any case, the BEAST member (also known for his work with Trouble Maker) is making his solo debut with his new mini-album, which is appropriately entitled MY. And the first song is appropriately entitled, too: "It's Me." Of course, he's not declaring that it's his mini-album when he sings "it's me." He's talking to a girl. "Kiss me girl," he sings as the song nears the end. Or is it not a song but an intro?


May 11, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
CRAYON POP: FM

The girls of Crayon Pop have been transformed into, what else, but super heros! Power Rangers inspired, even, according to Yes Asia's product description! OK, so that's probably not the least bit exciting to most of us, but "FM," the lead track from this, their second mini-album, is cause for celebration. It was written and produced by Shinsadong Tiger and Monster Factory and it's insanely catchy. Just don't ask me what the letters "FM" mean. You can read a translation of the song here: http://popgasa.com/2015/03/28/crayon-pop-fm/, but the significance of the letters is anybody's guess.


May 05, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
VANILLA ACOUSTIC: 3rd Part.2 'Eudaimonia'

Vanilla Acoustic are a Korean trio who debuted in 2008 with mini album Vanilla rain. To my ears, their sound is like a fine blend of pop and folk, which is starting to become a bit too trendy of late. But, hey, they started doing it several years ago, so they're trend-setters, not trend-hoppers. Got it?


April 28, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
LAURE SHANG: "RED AMNESIA"

Today I received some good news via Twitter -- Laure Shang has unveiled a brand new song! It's called "Red Amnesia" and it's from the movie of the same name, also known as Chuang ru zhe where it was made in China. The film will be released on April 30th in China and "Red Amnesia" appears on its soundtrack. I couldn't find an image of the soundtrack -- or a release date -- but I did find a photo on imdb that I was able to save, so that's what I've used as art for this post.


April 23, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
AURAL VAMPIRE: MIMIC YOUR HAIRSTYLE

Aural Vampire is a Japanese group lead by Exo-Chika (vocals/lyrics) and Raveman (music). They've been around since 2004 but this EP is the first of their releases that I've heard. And I must say I'm quite impressed with it.


April 22, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
AYUMI HAMASAKI: A ONE

This year is the 17th anniversary of Ayumi's debut and she's celebrating it with the release of her 16th original full-length album, A ONE. And, let me tell you, that A ought to stand for AWESOME because this album is an awesome one. In fact, it's my favorite album of Ayumi's since the classic Rainbow.


April 17, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
GIRLS' GENERATION: CATCH ME IF YOU CAN

Typically, Girls' Generation will release a song in one language -- Korean or Japanese -- and then release it in the other language later, sometimes as long as a few months later. But the Korean version of their new single, "Catch Me If You Can" was digitally released on iTunes (Korea and U.S. at least) on April 10th and the Japanese CD single is being released not long after on April 22nd.


April 14, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
AILEE: SAKURA

Ailee seems to be inheriting Lee Soo Young's status as the ballad queen of K-Pop. And those are big shoes to fill. Lee Soo Young is like a goddess fallen to earth. You listen to her ballads and she pulls you in like a siren. For the duration of her songs, you can't think about anything else. She has your full attention. And she has your heart strings. If it's a happy ballad, you'll feel warmth swirling around in your heart and your head will feel light. And if it's a sad song, which most of her ballads are, then prepare yourself for tears.


April 10, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
RED VELVET: The 1st Mini Album `Ice Cream Cake`

Hot on the heels of their fantastic hit singles "Happiness" and "Be Natural," Red Velvet have now released their first mini-album in the form of Ice Cream Cake. For those unaware, the K-Pop girl group was formed by S.M. Entertainment last year. Initially, it was four members -- Irene, Seulgi, Wendy, and Joy -- but this March they added a fifth member, Yeri. They are S.M.'s first new girl group in five years, following f(x). Last August their video for "Happiness" became the second most watched K-Pop video worldwide. Not bad for rookies, eh?


April 06, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
PERFUME: PICK ME UP

"Pick Me Up" is Perfume's new video, which hit Youtube yesterday and already has over 100,000 views, which I'd say is a lot because chances are that most of their fans aren't even aware that it's out yet.

For those who aren't away, Perfume is a J-Pop trio consisting of Ayano Omoto, Yuka Kashino, and Ayaka Nishiwaki. They are produced exclusively by Capsule's Yasutaka Nakata. And they are fabulous. Nakata is a genius and anyone who says otherwise is insane. (In addition to Capsule and Perfume, he's the producer of the magnificent Kyary Pamyu Pamyu.)


April 01, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
SHANNON WILLIAMS: 18

Shannon Williams, who's often simply referred to as Shannon, is a Korean-British singer who got her start on the variety show Star King in 2010. Ever since she's been collaborating with various artists and performing on television. Last December she finally released her debut single in the form of "Daybreak Rain." Eighteen is her first mini-album, 18 being her "Korean age," though she's actually 16 years old.


April 01, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
STYLIPS: THE SUPERNOVA STRIKES

StylipS is a four member J-Pop girl group who specialize in doing songs for anime. Or at least that was the case when they were started. Now they're more like a normal J-Pop unit. The current members are : Arisa Noto, Matsunaga Maho, Ito Miku and Toyota Moe. The group's name stands for "Brand a new Style for LipS." And, no, that doesn't make much sense to me either.


March 30, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
AN INTERVIEW WITH MEGA-HIT SONGWRITER ALBI ALBERTSSON

Whether you're a fan of K-Pop, J-Pop or C-Pop, chances are you've heard songs written by Albi Albertsson. As you'll see below, he's written for plenty of A-listers, including massive artists like Girls' Generation, Shinee, Arashi, Show Luo and Koda Kumi. K-Pop doesn't get any bigger than Girls' Generation, does it? Likewise, Koda Kumi is one of Japan's biggest megastars. Clearly, Albi knows what he's doing and he does it very well. Recently, I discovered that he was on Facebook and sent him a friend request. I was very happy when he approved it.


March 23, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
BERRY GOOD: 2ND SINGLE BECAUSE OF YOU

As you might guess with "Because of You" being their second single, Berry Good are a relatively new K-Pop girl group, having debuted in 2014 via Asia Bridge Entertainment. They've already undergone quite a few changes though, losing two rappers, Sun Bin and Ie Ra, in addition to a lead vocalist Na Yeon. I'm not sure if they quit or were fired. Genasia just says that the group was revamped keeping two original members, Tae Ha and Go Woon, and adding three new members, Seo Yul, Da Ye and Se Hyung.


March 19, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
NINE MUSES: DRAMA

Last year three members left Nine Muses, Sem, Eun Ji and Sera. So, you'd have every reason to suspect that their new mini-album would be rubbish. But it's not. With the addition of new members So Jin and Keum Jo the group is as strong as ever. Or pretty close to it. What I find amusing is the fact that there are no longer nine muses but *eight* muses. You'd think they would have brought in one more new member in the interest to continuing to live up to their namesake but for whatever reason(s) they didn't.


March 18, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net