Music Reviews

View all reviews (list)

Labels and artists interested in being featured here may contact Michael McCarthy at Follow Michael on Twitter


Kyary Pamyu Pamyu is celebrating her 5th year in the entertainment business and she has unveiled a pair of new songs that will appear on her KPP BEST albums to be released soon. I say albums because there are going to be at least two editions. One will have 3 CDS and 1 DVD and the other one will be a limited edition 1 CD version. Funny how they do that, eh? I mean, if the 1 disc version wasn't limited edition then fans who shell out for the 3 CD version wouldn't have any reason to buy it. So, to get people to buy both versions you make the 1 disc version a limited edition deal.

May 02, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

Ladies and gentlemen, the members of VIXX have surrendered to the dark side. Well, at least for their latest single, which is named after the Greek God of Rivalry and Envy. Zelos is the first part of a year-long "large-scale project" they're doing called VIXX 2016 Conception, so, then again, maybe they will be evil all year. I'm hoping that proves to be the case because the three tunes here are all fantastic.

April 28, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >
LADYBABY: Renge Chance!

Ladybaby is the unholy -- depending on your definition of unholy -- metal music trio consisting of Ladybeard, the professional wrestling, crossdressing, bearded character of Australian Rick Magarey and aspiring models Rie Kuromiya and Rie Kaneko. As you're probably aware, their first song/music video "Nippon Manju" (translation: "Japanese Bun") went viral, getting 1 million views in just 2 days at one point.

April 23, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >


CNBLUE are back with the brand new mini-album -- their 6th vol. -- entitled, what else, BLUEMING. To which end, you could certainly say that their new tunes are blooming, as they overflow with sun-drenched melodies and one infectious chorus after another. According to Yes Asia it's a "seasonal" release featuring "various sweet love songs," so if you're looking for a spring fling, this should get you in the mood, provided you can understand Korean. (Actually, the music has that vibe to the point that you should pick up on it even without comprehending the lyrics.)

April 20, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >
UTADA HIKARU: Manatsu No Tooriame, Hanataba Wo Kimini

Utada Hikaru has been absent from the Japanese music scene for years now, only very rarely releasing one song for a soundtrack or TV show. To that end, her two comeback singles are for shows or movies if memory serves me correctly. Alas, I have memory problems and I couldn't find the article that mentioned that, so I could be mistaken. In any case, this was a way for Utada to come back without immediately releasing a new pop single or album. Maybe she's testing the waters to see if she still has a fanbase.

April 16, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

It's hard to believe, but Cosmic Explorer is Perfume's fifth album already. This time around, they went three years in between albums, their last one being Level 3 in 2013. Of course, it's not like they ever went away.

April 14, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

LABOUM's new mini-album opens with a 44 second intro consisting of lots of synth and dashes of electro, which fits perfectly with the opening song and lead single "상상더하기," which has been translated as "Imagine More." It's a sweet, danceable, spring-themed song that's sure to spread joy wherever you play it. Except maybe if you play it in a room full of metalheads; that would probably piss them off. But it would be hard to find a K-Pop fan whose face "Imagine More" wouldn't put a smile on.

April 07, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

For the one or two of you who haven't heard of the Japanese metal band BABYMETAL, they started off in 2010 as a sub-unit of the girl group Sakura Gakuin. The members are young girls (kids, really): Suzuka Nakamoto as "Su-metal", Yui Mizuno as "Yuimetal", and Moa Kikuchi as "Moametal.” Interesting fact: none of them were even familiar with metal music before the formation of their sub-unit.

April 03, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

I just reviewed Hanae's super fun single "Shugarirura" the other day and I am quite happy to tell you that she's just released a stellar new album full of deliciously quirky new tunes. And while it's only March, I can pretty much guarantee you that this one will fall within my top 20 albums of 2016. It's that darn good.

March 29, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >


March 25, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >
SICK REVIEWS: Hanae, Perfume, Cheeky Parade, JY


I've had the flu and a bad cough for a week and a half now. That combined with my regular health problems has meant a whole lot of suffering. To say I was miserable would be an understatement. But there are a few tunes that I've managed to enjoy during this time when most things just sound blah. Here are some of the enjoyable ones.

HANAE: "Shugarirura"

March 22, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >


Babymetal have always been metal, to which end, yes, they've always been super heavy. But "Karate" goes beyond that to ultra-heavy with its rough, blistering riffage and bone crushing drums. It's also different from their previous singles in the sense that it has a very nu-metal vibe (at least in terms of the guitars). To that end, they do a better job of incorporating the best nu-metal ever had to offer in their sound than half the modern metal bands who are influenced by it here in the States. No wonder they're so astronomically popular.

March 15, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

I don't read celebrity gossip and news sites much, but even I know the story of Ladies' Code's tragedy. Simply put, the reason why they are no longer a five member group is because two of their members are dead as a result of a horrific car accident on September 3, 2014. Immediately following the accident, EunB was declared dead on arrival by the time the paramedics reached the nearest medical center. RiSE's injuries were critical and she passed away in the hospital four days later. Today the group consists of the three remaining members, Ashley, Zuny and Sojung.

March 10, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

Brave Girls are the girl group produced by K-Pop songwriting masterminds the Brave Brothers. They've done pop, dance pop, R&B, ballads, etc, never settling on one sound for too long. If Wiki is correct, they currently have five new members along with original members Yoojin and Hyeran. I think I wanted to dislike this because I hate it when groups constantly have members leaving and new members joining. I lose faith in the rock bands I'm a fan of when that sort of thing happens, so it makes sense that I'd be frustrated with it happening to my favorite K-Pop groups.

March 07, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

MiChi's latest single, "Checkmate!?" is the intro theme to the anime show Daga Shikashi and it's insanely catchy! Racing drums? Check! Funky bass guitar noodling? Check! Gorgeous orchestration? Check! Catchy electric guitars? Check! Adorable vocals by MiChi? Checkmate! OK, that's a lot of exclamation points; I'm just trying to write this review in the spirit of the song itself. I could use all kinds of adjectives here like contagious, addictive and infectious, but you don't need me to do that, do you? OK, yeah, so I just did -- but it's worthy of all of them!

March 04, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

I recently discovered the wonderful music of AJ Unity, a duo consisting of Naomi Suzuki and Philipp Moll, who make music that blends traditional Japanese instruments with shades of pop and new age. It's very calming music, which I imagine you could meditate to. I've found it especially relaxing and perfect to listen to while falling asleep at night. It's like audible lavender or a high dose of kava kava. That said, it's more than interesting enough to listen to while you're wide awake.

March 04, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

LoVendoR is an all-girl pop rock band fronted by former Morning Musume member Reina Tanaka.  They have amassed a large international following after performing several tours in Japan and scattered dates in the U.S.

February 28, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

interview by Michael McCarthy

February 23, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

Last month Kamen Rider Girls released their latest single, "Next Stage," and I've been putting off writing about it ever since. You see, Kamen Rider Girls have always had hard rock music behind them, if not heavy metal, but "Next Stage" is a danceable J-Pop tune, a far cry from what I have always loved about them. Suffice to say I found it terribly disappointing. I didn't even listen to it once during the last couple of weeks. But I listened to it again today and I must admit that it's not a bad song. In fact, it's actually a great J-Pop song. But, yes, it is a J-POP song, not J-Rock.

February 18, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >

AOA Cream are an AOA (Ace of Angels) sub-unit consisting of Yuna, Hyejeong and Chanmi. "I'm Jelly Baby" -- that's its official English title -- is their debut single and it's been taking the K-Pop world by storm. Something that should come as no surprise to anyone who's heard it, as it's quite the pink and fluffy earworm. It wiggles its way inside of your head and stays there for hours. Initially, I wasn't sure that was such a good thing. The first time I listened to it I thought it sounded to plastic-y, if that makes any sense.

February 16, 2016 / by Paris365 / Read More >
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy