Maiden Japan Announces License of "Tokyo Magnitude 8.0!"

By Animaven on January 03, 2013

No comments

HOUSTON, January 3, 2013—Maiden Japan today announced its acquisition of the compelling animated drama Tokyo Magnitude 8.0.  Based on extensive research into the potential effects of a massive earthquake, Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 is an 11 episode study into human courage and the will to survive which originally debured in Fuji TV’s powerhouse anime block “noitaminA”.  Direction is by Masaki Tachibana (.hack//Quantum) with series composition by Natsuko Takahashi (07-Ghost), character designs by Atsuko Nozaki (The Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky), sound direction by Kazuya Tanaka (High School of the Dead) and music by Ko Otani (Hakuoki).


The devastation is unleashed in the span of seconds.  Yielding to centuries of unrelenting pressure, an ancient rift in the Earth gives way and a force equivalent to over a thousand atomic bombs erupts beneath the feet of the citizens of the world’s largest mega-cities!  For the people of the greater Tokyo area, the results are catastrophic as even “earthquake-proof” buildings sway like weeds in the wind, gas mains rip open in gouts of flame and huge sections of the city’s vital infrastructure are torn into shreds.  For sister and brother Mirai and Yuki who were caught in the earthquake while in Odaiba during summer holiday, it’s the start of a desperate journey back to their parent’s home in Setagaya.  For motorcycle courier Mari, it means an equally frantic battle towards Sangenjaya and her own daughter and mother.  Joining together in an epic odyssey through the mangled streets, these three must brave impossible obstacles and endure unspeakable hardships and heartbreak, with no way of knowing if their loved ones are even still alive.  But they’ve no other choice!  In the aftermath of nature’s fury, only the strongest of will and most courageous of heart can hope to survive in TOKYO MAGNITUDE 8.0!


Maiden Japan will be distributing Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 in conjunction with home video distributor Section 23 (Clannad, High School of the Dead, Appleseed,) with the entire series to be released in bilingual English DVD, BD and digital formats on April 2nd 2013.

Share this
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy