Music Reviews

View all reviews (list)

Labels and artists interested in being featured here may contact Michael McCarthy at cinema365@gmail.com. Follow Michael on Twitter https://twitter.com/paris365.

T-ARA: SO GOOD

So Good is the lovely T-ARA's 11th mini-album already. Clearly, they work non-stop, making music faster than bees make honey, though their music is just as sweet!


August 28, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
KODA KUMI: SUMMER of LOVE

Koda Kumi is back. Sort of. SUMMER of LOVE is more of a compilation than a new album. It features her best summer-themed songs spanning from 2006 until today, which you could easily compile as a playlist if you own all of her albums already. BUT the real selling point is that it features three brand new tunes, which I will now review. And it just so happens that they're the first three tracks on the album.

1. "EX TAPE"


August 25, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
GIRLS' GENERATION: LION HEART - THE 5TH ALBUM

It's finally here, Girls' Generation's long-awaited 5th album. Hard to believe it's only their 5th though. They're always releasing so much music, juggling careers in Korea and Japan, that you'd think they were up to album number 8 by now. Not that getting up to number 5 is any small accomplishment. It's somewhat rare for a K-Pop act to release this many albums, so many artists here today and gone tomorrow. Seriously, some artists don't even get to make one album, maybe releasing two singles and a mini-album then vanishing.


August 20, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
GIRLS' GENERATION: "LION HEART"

"Lion Heart" is the lead track from Girls' Generation's soon to be released 5th album. This time around, they're trying something a bit different. On August 18th -- the day of this posting -- they're releasing six songs under the title Lion Heart. But tomorrow, the 19th, will see the final six of the album's twelve songs released under the title You Think. It seems more like two separate EPs to me but the tracks are not being released in order, so it's like you get six seemingly random pieces of the puzzle one day and then the other six the next day, completing the puzzle.


August 18, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
f(x): SUMMER SPECIAL

Korean girl group f(x) have finally released some music in Japanese. Considering how hugely popular they are in Korea, it's a wonder they didn't try to crossover into Japan years ago. Then again, their electro-licious music is so tasty it's probably been selling like Pocky in Japan already.


August 14, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
KOREAN MUSIC SINGLE SPOTLIGHT VOLUME ONE

Personally, I much prefer mini-albums and full-length albums over stand alone digital singles. But I guess they're a necessary evil, since they help new artists start building up a fanbase and keep fans of already popular artists thirsty for more in between bigger releases. Since these isolated singles have become so popular during the past couple of years, I thought I should write a review of a handful of those released recently, something I believe I've only done once before. I'll probably start doing it every few weeks now.


August 12, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
dolls: ROCK'N' DOLL

dolls is a new Japanese rock group consisting of three girls who appear to be teenagers. And they're a real rock band, playing their own instruments. (See the teaser video below.) I'm assuming that they write their own songs, too. I mean, if they play their own instruments, why wouldn't they? They obviously have the talent.


August 11, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
AYUMI HAMASAKI: sixxxxxx

Want this summer to get a little hotter? Then you simply must check out this new mini-album by Ayu; it's on fire, each of its six tracks nothing short of red hot.


August 05, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
MAMAMOO: MINI ALBUM VOL. 2 - PINK FUNKY

Mamamoo released their much-praised debut mini-album, Hello, last year and they've been very active ever since, collaborating with Bumkey, K.Will, Geeks, eSNa and Loco, this in addition to releasing various songs on soundtracks and competition releases. Suffice to say they're one of the busiest girl groups in the business of K-Pop.


August 04, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
INFINITE: REALITY

Following numerous solo and sub-unit activities, Infinite makes their big comeback with their fifth mini-album, Reality.


August 01, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
YUKI: 好きってなんだろう…涙 / となりのメトロ - Single [Sukitte Nandarou...Namida + Tonari no Metro]

It's been almost a year since Yuki released Daredemo Lonely, but I'm quite happy to say that she's back with this, her new double A-side single, Sukitte Nandarou...Namida + Tonari no Metro.


July 29, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
D.HOLIC: MINI-ALBUM VOL. 1: CHEWY CHEWY

D.Holic is a South Korean girl group formed in 2014 by H.Mate Entertainment. They debuted on October 23, 2014 with the single "I Don't Know." The group consists of five girls, Hami, Nine, Duri, Danbee and Rena. I wish I could tell you why they're called D.Holic, specifically what the D stands for, but I've just given you all of the information I could find about them when I googled them.


July 28, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
MINX: LOVE SHAKE

Minx is a K-Pop girl group produced by Happy Face Entertainment, the agency behind Dalshabet. The rookie group's five members are Ji Yoo, Soo Ah, Yo Hyun, Da Mi and Si Yeon. They made their debut last year with the single "Why Did You Come To My Home," which is best described as a fine slice of EDM pie. To that end, I found the track to be rather delicious and was really looking forward to hearing more from them.


July 23, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
9MUSES: 9MUSES S/S EDITION [SPECIAL SUMMER ALBUM]

9Muses, also written as Nine Muses, is a K-Pop girl group that initially began with nine members but after the last bunch of line-up changes, they decided to stick with eight: Euaerin, Pyo Hyemi, Park Minha, Moon Hyuna, Park Kyungri, Son Sungah, Jo Sojin and Lee Keumjo. But I suppose the name still works because they were named after the nine muses of Greek mythology and there's no law that states that they must have one member to represent each of the muses. But perhaps they will add a ninth member at some point in the future.


July 22, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
Shin Yong Jae: 숨 쉴때 마다

Google translates the title of this new single by 4MEN's Shin Yong Jae as "Every breath swilttae."* And, no, I have no idea what that last word is supposed to mean. Clearly, it's something that gets lost in translation. Unless it's a name. But I doubt it. In any case, yes, Shin hails from a boy band called 4MEN. I'd never heard of them before, to be entirely honest, but Generasia indicates that they've been around since 1998, though they were initially called Four Men. Currently, it seems there are only two members, Shin and Kim Won Joo.


July 20, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
MICRODOT: 마이크로테입 (Microtape Mixtape EP)

Microdot -- real name David Shin -- hails from New Zealand but was one half of the popular Korean rap duo All Black, along with Lee Joon-Kyung (aka Dok-2). By the time he was 13, he was already quite famous, especially in Seoul. But in 2006 he decided to go back to New Zealand. Now he's 21 and an Auckland University marketing graduate. But he's trying to make it as a Korean rap star once again. Sort of. You see, he's largely rapping in English, but he's back in Seoul and recently competed on Show Me The Money, the Korean reality television/rap competition.


July 15, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
SISTAR: SHAKE IT

Another summer, another fine mini-album from Sistar, otherwise known as Hyolyn, Bora, Soyou and Dasom...

Shake It opens with the title track, a red hot dance stomper produced by Duble Sidekick. It's a '90's throwback in terms of the bouncy beats and twinkly synth, but it's the vibrant horns and the girls' perfect harmonizing that make it so addictive. The chorus slips inside of your head like caramel or hot fudge in your mouth and boy is it tasty.


July 14, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
GIRLS' GENERATION: PARTY

"Hey girls. Do you know what time it is?" "It must be party time." "Here we go!"

You know summer has officially arrived when Girls' Generation release a hot new song about it being party time. Summer is even mentioned in the song multiple times. Can you beat that?


July 07, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
THE SOLUTIONS: NO PROBLEM!

The Solutions are a fantastic new Korean pop/electro/rock band consisting of Park Sol (vocals), naru (guitars), Park HanSol (drums), Kwon OhKyung (bass). And they are very exciting! I was only halfway through listening to the EP's intro track "No Problem!" when I knew I was going to love them. It was *that* delicious. Something about the way they blend heavy doses of synthesizers and loops along with your traditional bass, guitar and drums is downright invigorating.


July 06, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
AOA: HEART ATTACK

AOA, otherwise known as Ace of Angels, is back with their exquisite third mini-album, Heart Attack. And, wow, is it yummy. Delicious K-Pop bliss from start to finish.


July 02, 2015 / by Paris365 / Read More >
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net